top of page
Search
GlobalCitizenScholars

Redefining What's Normal

I began to realize that “normal” is not a good word to describe a person, in fact, it is very useless. This is because I believe no one is “normal” and the meaning of that word can vary for everyone. ...

Photo Credit: davisco@unsplash

 

Our Global Citizens Scholars Cohort’s (2017-20) focus is neurodiversity. This concept supports the idea of embracing, respecting, and accepting the diverse neurological differences we have. These differences can be categorized: Dyslexia, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, Autistic Spectrum, Tourette Syndrome, among others. These are all typically seen as examples of disorders and individuals diagnosed with them are labeled 'disabled'. However, neurodiversity suggests that these conditions are just another variation of the definition of what it means to be human.

“.... there is no single color that accurately represents all 10 million shades of colors and there is no color that is considered “normal.”

After having my immersion experience with students on the spectrum from the Meadville Area Senior High School (MASH), I had mixed feelings about the word “normal”. I began to realize that “normal” is not a good word to describe a person, in fact, it is very useless. This is because I believe no one is “normal” and the meaning of that word can vary for everyone.


Image Credit: RhondaK Native Florida Folk Artist, unsplash


During my immersion experience, spending time with autistic students from MASH helped me to realize that those individuals are not disabled or normal at all. This is because my Global Citizens Scholar (GCS) experience has helped me to understand that we are all different-- call it abnormal -- in our own way, no matter what title or label we fall under. I believe my GCS cohort members are good examples. Each and everyone one of us is very different and unique and none us would like to be considered “normal.” That’s what I love about my cohort.


~~ Arigun Bayaraa (GCS Cohort 2017-2020)


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page